Lemons to lemonade: Refusing to let the job market get me down

I was laid off nearly 11 months ago, along with a few close friends and co-workers (we were just the first wave).  As we packed our boxes, I recall someone telling me that we’d have a great time spending time with our kids at the pool in July, and me responding that if I were sitting around a pool in July I’d be twitching like I’d been exposed to a nerve agent.  With my experience, I figured I’d be out of work for three or four months, max.

In the past 11 months, I’ve started a blog; helped one son get his life on track and back to college; figured out my “brand;” and done some consulting on some fun and different things.  I’m trying to figure out if I can make consulting work on a full-time basis (with two in college and two more at home growing very quickly) or if I need to really ratchet up my job search.

I’m really looking forward to this movie.  If you haven’t seen the trailer, it’s worth clicking on.

Just wondering, how are you turning your situation into lemonade?

5 thoughts on “Lemons to lemonade: Refusing to let the job market get me down

  1. Thanks Peter.

    Although I have mixed emotions watching this, I liked it.

    I found myself watching it twice.

    Thank you for directing me to this.

  2. I was just reading about the movie Up in the Air and how they used real people for the layoff scenes because they couldn’t write anything authentic sounding for the dialogue. For a minute, I was wondering if these were the people. Thanks for sharing this. It’s hard some days to remember the silver lining in an out-of-work situation. After been on the treadmill so long, you think that is the only life.

Leave a Reply

